20S IN THE 90S, Laurie Kolp

20S IN THE 90S
by Laurie Kolp

When Julia Roberts plays a hooker,
big mistake. Huge. Shopping like that
down the strip, a credit card limit
unlimited. Saturday at the mall
we sit and people watch, waiting
for our Glamour Shots appointment,
the new guy I love sure to love me
back after that. I live in your guest bed-
room, the closet my secret wet bar. A girl
walks by with a drink from Orange Julius
and I wonder if it’s spiked. You say I should
come out more, but then I’d risk a traffic jam
when I need to throw up in the toilet. We
share wine and smoke cigarettes at night
on the back porch, badmouthing our exes
God! the gall of some men. A screw-
driver hides in my room, waiting
for sips between bathroom breaks.
Ever since my husband betrayed me
I don’t know who I am.

Laurie Kolp, author of Upon the Blue Couch (Winter Goose Publishing, 2014) and Hello, It’s Your Mother (Finishing Line Press, upcoming) serves as president of Texas Gulf Coast Writers and belongs to the Poetry Society of Texas. Laurie’s poems have appeared in more than four dozen publications including the 2015 Poet’s Market, The Crafty Poet, Scissors & Spackle, North Dakota Quarterly, Blue Fifth Review, Pirene’s Fountain. An avid runner and lover of nature, Laurie lives in Southeast Texas with her husband, three children and two dogs.

She can be found on the web at: http://lauriekolp.com.

Leave a Reply

