A LONE FEATHER LOST IN TIME, Laurie Kolp

A LONE FEATHER LOST IN TIME
by Laurie Kolp

You tossed Calvin Klein jeans
and Polo sweaters in my face 
when all I really wanted 
was your undivided attention. 
Shows of love you wrapped up 
in a gift bag, materialistic stuff
guilted, a swallow of your pride 
to stop the handmade cards 
I left at your bedside
where you knit gaudy plum yarn 
into socks for dogs,
stitches of your time I craved 
approval but you handed me a shovel
to dig myself out of depression. 
You expected my best 
but I searched for words of praise, 
which I found drifting 
in the wind, a lone feather
lost in space.
Leave a Reply

