LUCID, Katie Lois Johnson

LUCID
by Katie Lois Johnson

Some days I don't recognize
Myself.
Scrawl apologies on mirrors
For the blood there.
Was I ever really breathing

I am all skin and brittle breaking
Always folding; always folding.
Do not tell me this is home.
I am separate. I am separate.

I am
Figment.

This translucence is a
Pale moon to the sinking.

Touch lips to skin
to find the warmth there

Sometimes I imagine
I exist
In the space between my heartbeats
The tangible is fleeting

Sometimes I imagine
I exist
Between the marred hues of the sunset
This is ending. This is ending.

I beg you,
Hear my cries through
Troubled waters
Drowning with each gasp as I am pleading

Tell me I am here.
Katie Lois Johnson is currently a student at Agnes Scott College in Decatur, Georgia, and is majoring in Women’s Studies and Religion & Social Justice. Katie lives with major depression, social anxiety, and borderline personality disorder.
Leave a Reply

