Sycamores Year One: “Benign Positional Vertigo”

Autonomous Press releases three books in March, including Barking Sycamores: Year One. We are blogging excerpts from the anthology to give you a “sneak peek” inside. Today, we’re happy to present “Benign Positional Vertigo” by Thomas Krampf, which was published in Issue 2.

BENIGN POSITIONAL VERTIGO
by Thomas Krampf

My shadow is suffering from vertigo

It cannot stand up, sit down, turn around,
without the risk of falling over

“Maybe it’s a defect in some inherited composition of the brain,” I say,
“After all, the reality is while the earth is constantly rotating, we’re also orbiting
at great speed around the sun.

“You mean there’s some temporary impairment in a corrective mechanism
of the brain,” my shadow says

“I wonder if anybody else ever thought of that?”

“I don’t know,” I say, as in the oscillating light,
and afraid of the import of my own words,
I grip the edge of the table.

A cow at 18,000 miles an hour whips past the window.
Leave a Reply

