083., Sarah Krenicki

083.
by Sarah Krenicki

Stalagmites and stalactites–
I can never remember which is which

I can see them dripping
in a steady rhythm like my heart is–
did you know heart disease is the number one cause of death in women?
I picture it beating under my ribcage–
the skin there is dry,
I wonder if that is a symptom of heart disease.

There are two library books due tomorrow
I have to go return them,
while I’m there
I can look up which is a stalagmite 
and which is a stalactite.

My heart is faster now–
heart disease is the number one cause–
I am a runner I run three miles every other day
why is it so fast I am laying down-

is it the library books?
Heart disease 
tomorrow I should bake something
cookies maybe
is the number one cause
or maybe I’ll go for a run.
My heart feels like it’s running
of death in women.

I have to return the library books.

Stalactites and stalagmites I 
can never straighten
can never remember
so fast
the number one cause of death-
stalagmites are the number one cause of death in women.
My library books are beating so fast,
I run three miles every other day but I didn’t Tuesday–
I want to bake something–
stalactites are going to the library 
the library
my heart
Sarah Krenicki is a semi-recent college graduate who works in marketing. She writes her anxiety into poetry so something good can come out of all this nonsense. It’s coming along quite nicely. She lives with General Anxiety Disorder and ADHD. They sit on her mantle and serve as lovely conversation pieces.
Leave a Reply

